Most employers in Florida are required by law to pay for workers’ compensation coverage for their workers. The idea is that if you’re injured on the job or are diagnosed with a work-related disease in Miami, Hollywood, or anywhere in Florida, workers’ compensation can help you financially while you heal, without you having to sue your employer.
The work injury claims attorneys at Flaxman Law Group hear from hard-working Florida employees who are having a hard time getting the benefits they are entitled to. One of the most frequent questions our legal team hears is “how much workers’ comp benefits am I entitled to?” We’ve put together this guide to help address this question.
What Are Workers’ Comp Benefits in Florida?
If you’re injured during work duties in Florida or are diagnosed with an occupational disease, you may be entitled to the following.
Medical benefits should cover reasonable and necessary medical expenses related to your work injury or illness, including:
- Doctor visits
- Hospital stays
- Visits with specialists
- Imaging, blood, and other medical tests
- Physical therapy, including expected ongoing physical therapy
- Medical treatment
- Medical devices, such as prosthetics or wheelchairs
- Reimbursement for travel to and from medical appointments
You do not have to pay deductibles or co-payments for medical benefits. However, you will need to go to a physician who is approved by your employer’s insurer. If you feel you are not getting the medical treatment you need from this provider, you may wish to consult with a worker injury claims attorney.
Wage loss benefits
Another workers’ comp benefit in Florida is the replacement of part of your average wages. This can involve the following:
- Temporary total disability (TTD) benefits are paid if you are unable to work at all due to your injury. You may be eligible for 66 2/3% of your average weekly wage up to a maximum amount set by law. You can receive these benefits until you reach maximum medical improvement or for up to 104 weeks, whichever comes first.
- Temporary partial disability (TPD) benefits are paid if you can work with restrictions or limitations. You can receive 80% of the difference between 80% of your average weekly wage before the injury and your actual earnings after the injury. You can receive these benefits until you reach maximum medical improvement or for up to 104 weeks, whichever comes first.
- Permanent partial disability (PPD) benefits are paid if you have a permanent impairment rating. You can receive 75% of your temporary total disability rate multiplied by the percentage of impairment assigned by your doctor. The type and extent of your impairment determines how long you can get benefits.
- Permanent total disability (PTD) benefits are paid if you can’t return at all to work because of your injury. You can receive 66 2/3% of your average weekly wage up to a maximum amount set by the state. You can receive these benefits until you reach age 75, when you get Social Security retirement benefits. If you do not qualify for Social Security retirement benefits, you may be able to receive PTD benefits for life.
- Vocational rehabilitation benefits are paid if a worker can’t return to their job. Benefits can include vocational counseling, placement services, and additional education for 26 or 52 weeks. This is to help the employee get a new job.
- Death benefits. If a worker dies due a workplace injury or illness, death benefits are paid to the family or surviving dependants. This benefit helps to pay for funeral expenses and can replace part of the employee’s income in their household.
To make sure you get your rightful benefits, call Flaxman Law Group at 866-352-9626 or contact us online if you’ve been injured at work. We can set up a free, no obligation case consultation to review what benefits you may qualify for, how much your claim may be worth, and what steps we can take to secure benefits.